Running: Week 2, Day 2

From Facebook Note posting on 8/31/10…

So, this is my first day of chronicling my journey from fat man to marathon runner. Here’s a quick recap in case you didn’t check out my original posting:

Fat man wants to run 2011 NYC Marathon; decides to accomplish this goal by introducing positive changes, one step at a time; ran first continuous mile last Sunday after first week of running training.

So now that you’re all caught up, lets get into today…

It was pretty much a crappy day, and unfortunately, I let that affect my run. It all started last night with an ultimately uneventful, but frustrating, run-in with the police while driving home from school. Let’s just say that, even though most cops are good, honest people, it’s the a**holes that tend to frame our perceptions of the rest. This though, is true of people in any profession, but I digress.

Work today didn’t go much easier, but I will not get into details on that here. What matters is the running, but sometimes, we let negativity affect us too much, and that’s what happened today. It was hot, I was tired, and annoyed, and I ALMOST wanted to quit in the middle of my run. I didn’t, but I had to REALLY fight the urge.

I guess I can just chalk it up to being an “increasing mental toughness day”, and look forward to the next run.

That’s all for now. Any questions, comments, or suggestions, please feel free to leave them below, and I’ll try to respond as soon as I can.

Leave a Reply

