Running: Week 2, Day 3

From Facebook Note posting on 9/4/10…

Welcome to week 2, day 3 of running. For those of you just tuning in, here is a brief recap:

Fat man decides it’s time to lose weight, wants to run in 2011 NYC Marathon; currently training to meet his objective and has decided to take you all through the journey by way of this blog.

On to the running…

Earlier this week, I purchased running shoes online, as having comfortable shoes is a must for running. Also, my feet are as flat as pancakes, so it’s really to my benefit to have as much comfort as possible.

I decided that I would start to break-in these shoes on todays run. However, they turned out too tight, which caused me to stop in the middle of my run, turn back, and walk home. Lesson learned: don’t buy running shoes online, unless you have gotten yourself fit for them at a store first.

It was quite a disappointment, but I wasn’t going to let it stop me from getting my workout in. After a change of shoes, I was back out there to finish up week 2 of my training.

Overall, today was a good running day, despite the shoe fiasco. I will ramp up the intensity a little more next week with less walking, and more running.

As of yet, I haven’t posted the training regimen that I am using. I will post it soon, so if you wish to “be like me” (LOL) you can follow along.

That’s all for now. As always, any questions, suggestions, or motivational comments are welcome.

Leave a Reply

