Running: Week 3, Day 2

Hey everyone, I hope this post finds all of you well.

Today’s run was a little hard, but ultimately satisfying. I was really considering postponing today’s run because I felt really sleepy, and tired after work. The old me would have conceded without much thought, and taken the day off without any remorse. But, today, I decided I would just nap for about an hour, then go out for my run. Yes, I wanted to have my cake, and eat it too. This option was a lot better than just laying in bed and watching TV.

As for the run itself, my feet were a little more comfortable thanks to an over-the-counter orthotic in my shoe this time around. (A tip for my flat-footed friends: an orthotic coupled with a comfortable insole can REALLY help with the foot pain that can come with running.) The comfort lasted until about the halfway point of the workout, where my feet really started to bug me. It was nothing that would have to make me stop though. Just one of those pains that you can push through.

One thing I do want to stress, is the importance of cooling down properly after the run. This includes walking for about 5-10 minutes, followed by some light stretching. It’s especially important to stretch your leg muscles, as it helps reduce soreness both immediately following the workout, and the day after. I can attest to this in that I ultimately feel pretty good the day after, with only mild soreness, and I have not had shin splints or other such ailments (yet, anyway *crosses fingers*) even though I run on concrete.

So, now it’s off to shower and relax before bed, with the comfort of knowing that I’m one step closer to my goal. As always, comments, suggestions, and questions are always welcome. Good night!

– therunningfatguy

Leave a Reply

