Running: Week 3, Day 4

Well, today was one of those days where I just felt like sleeping. I did not want to be bothered; just wanted a bed to lay down on, and hibernate until around noonish tomorrow. In hindsight I’m glad I didn’t do that, because I had a very successful run.

My boss and I started our stair walking routine this morning that we had long abandoned. We used to walk the EXTREMELY steep stairs of the college that I work at, from the bottom floor all the way to the top, and back again. It’s 7 flights, but the steepness can take the wind out of people who are in better shape than I. Factor that with my 320 pound frame, and you have a nice little workout (oh, by the way, I was 330 lbs when I started, and have lost 10 pounds so far.)

My legs felt like gelatin after the stair workout, but the rest of the day was pretty much spent at my desk, catching up on some work, and reading the news. Not really an intense day today, which is a nice respite from the craziness that is the first 2 weeks of the new semester.

On the drive home today, I was bargaining with myself, saying “Oh, you went on your run yesterday, you should just take today off, and run on Saturday”, and “I do feel a little sore, maybe I should just take the day off.” I almost did just that, and while laying in bed I started to feel bad about cheating myself. So I took my fat a** off of the bed, put on my shorts and shoes, and took off.

My run started off a little difficult, I guess because of the lack of motivation, or because of the stairs. I was finding myself begging the clock to hit the 4 minute mark so that I could walk again. The first two sets went like this, and I was starting to think “Maybe I should just wrap this up. I went out, finished two sets already, and it’s better than what I was planning on.” Then, I hit the zone.

I realized I was concentrating too much on the pain my feet were in, and not just enjoying the run. Once I stopped thinking about it, the pain just about went away. I let myself slip into other thoughts, and found that I was just moving; no pain, breathing normally, it was almost peaceful. I was able to finish pretty strongly, finding the same stride, and keeping the same pace that I  have when I first start my runs.

This concludes week 3 of training, and I feel ready to take on week 4. It’s another four days of running, with less walking than this week. Soon, I should be at my initial goal of running for 30 minutes straight. Then, it’s on to training for a 5k. As always, any questions, comments, or suggestions are always welcome, and appreciated.

-therunningfatguy

3 Responses

  1. I think you have some pretty strong will there! Just be careful with your knees – the impact from running together with your current weight can be some mean stress to them.

    • Hi there! First, I want to thank you for being the first person to comment on my blog. Also, yes, the stress on my knees is a big concern to me, as the prospect of injury is much higher at my current weight. I try to do my best to prevent injuries with proper stretching and such, but the best thing for me to do will be to drop the weight. Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate the support!

Leave a Reply

