Another Day, Another Mile

Today was supposed to be an off/rest day for me, but they say that you should really avoid doing absolutely nothing during these days (which, of course, was my plan). They call it “active recovery”. That means that, although it’s a rest day, you should do some easy exercise to keep your muscles loose.

Well, I decided to do some easy (and I use the term loosely here) jogging today. I figured, hey, it’s been two weeks since I ran my first continuous mile, and started blogging about my journey, so why not try to do the mile again and see how far I’ve come. The answer that I got was, not that far; but I’m getting there.

It still is pretty difficult for me to jog for a long, continuous time with my robust frame, but it has been getting easier little by little. The mile was pretty difficult in the middle section of the run. I think what makes it difficult is the hardness and unevenness of the surface (concrete), and the incline of the street, which is pretty significant. Still, I have been able to push myself (without hurting myself) through these rough parts, and finish the workout. I finished the mile in about 16 minutes, which is ridiculously slow, but I know that a) I was able to get through it, and actually felt strong at the end, and b) I know I can run continuously for at least 16 minutes, which is halfway to my initial goal of being able to run 30 minutes straight.

I still have to get myself proper running shoes. It’s been difficult to make the time to get out to a store that specializes in running shoes to get fitted and what-not, as I have very little time between school, work, running, and now, volunteering. I will get them eventually, as I’m starting to truly realize that really comfortable shoes will be a necessity for the longer runs to come. Also, I’m considering whether to continue running on the concrete surfaces in my neighborhood, or to find a park where I can run on either a track or softer surface. I haven’t been plagued with much knee pain, or shin splints as of yet, but these may affect me later on once I begin running for longer periods of time.

While I’m at it, I want to bring to your attention t0 the SocialVibe  widget that I have on my page. By clicking on it, and donating a little time to perform some easy activities, you can help support the American Diabetes Association (ADA). So please, next time you visit the page, take a little time, click on the link on the right hand side, and help a wonderful organization fund research to help cure and treat diabetes.

Also, I have recently gotten involved in some awesome volunteer projects through New York Cares, which I will share with you in a section called “therunningfatguy Gives Back”. Hopefully, through me, you can get an idea of the cool volunteer opportunities that you can get involved with, and volunteer too!

As always, questions, comments, and suggestions are always welcome.

-therunningfatguy

4 Responses

  1. Niiiice….”active recovery” is whats it called? I had to figure that out by myself, so I didn’t know it was labeled. Its great to see that you’re takin’ this seriously and stickin’ with it.

    The concrete IS a problem, comin’ from someone who has played countless hours of sports in parks and on the street. It would save you a lot of pain if you found a track to run on regularly….treadmills are just as effective if you decide to train at a gym. I’ll check out the widget in a bit.

    Another informative entry…keep the updates comin’

    • what its*

    • Yeah man, they say that it’s no good to just do nothing on those off days. Sometimes, from what I’ve read, these are good days to incorporate cross-training too, because you will be working different muscles. Thanks for following Lee, I am taking this really seriously, and I WILL run a marathon next year. I would love for that marathon to be the NYC one, but entry into that marathon can be a mix of luck, and/or who you know.

      As far as the concrete, yeah it is a big problem. I will be honest though, I don’t want to give it up completely because it provides me with 2 things: 1) Good race day simulation, since a lot of races are on either asphalt or concrete. 2) The inclines and declines found in the streets, especially around my house, provide a good way to build up strength, and you typically don’t find those grades on the track. Big plus to the track though, like you said, is less impact on the joints.

      Trust me bro, I will keep the entries coming. Every day I run, you guys will know lol.

      • Lol, Cool and no problem.

        Regarding simulation, you can always alternate between the track and street…I didn’t really think of the inclines and declines, but when I was running on the treadmill everyday I had the advantage of increasing incline and all that. It still wouldn’t prepare you for the concrete though, so you’re better off just running on the street for that.

Leave a Reply

