Running: Week 4, Days 2 and 3

Hey everyone, I missed telling you about yesterday’s run, so I’m going to tell you about that one and today’s run in one post. It’s just more efficient that way ;-).

The field and track

A lot easier on the knees than concrete!

So yesterday was day two, and it was another one of those days where I kind of considered skipping, and giving in to the fatigue that had plagued me the whole day. I’m glad that up to this point I have been able to fight the urges to skip a day, as in my prior attempts at losing weight and/or getting back into exercise, such days would have started the snowball effect of skipping workouts, and eventual binge eating.

I’ve decided that I will be using the track at the local college to do my running from now on until I drop a few more pounds, and get proper running shoes. It’s going to be better for my knees and feet in the long run anyway.

Last night’s run was a bit difficult in that I was pretty tired to begin with, so it became a mental struggle as much as a physical one. I hit the wall pretty early on, so I had to motivate myself to just get through the rest of the workout.

I always listen to music when I run as I feel it helps pass the time, and can be really motivating depending on the song. Well, when I was into my fourth set I felt like my legs were made of lead. I just wanted to drop when, totally unplanned, “Eye of the Tiger” comes on. Corny, I know, but it motivated the hell out of me. I picked up the pace, and got through the rest of the set strongly.

Today’s run was a whole lot better. I just felt stronger overall, and had considerably less discomfort in my feet and legs at the end of the workout. I even challenged myself, increasing the tempo of the run on every other set, and challenging myself to maintain that pace for the whole five minutes. It worked, and I managed to log about another 2 miles of run time today.

I really noticed that I’m starting to feel a whole lot better while I’m out on the track and, after today, I can actually see myself accomplishing my first goal of running for 30 minutes straight. If I can do this, I know I can make it to marathon training.

That’s all for now folks. Questions, comments, or suggestions are always welcome.

-therunningfatguy

Eye of the Tiger (album)

And he's watchin' us all in the eye... of the tiger!

One Response

  1. Nice! Next up is the running shoes…Personally I would have Akuma’s theme “Killing Moon” blaring in my ears but Eye of the Tiger is just as effective. Pushing yourself a bit when you began feeling comfortable is also a good idea. I remember jumpin’ from 15 mins of jogging/power walking/running to 30 minutes when it started to get too easy

Leave a Reply

