Marathon Training Week 1 Complete! Now on to Week 2!

Week 1 of Marathon Training is officially complete! 15 miles total for the week (I know, not that huge, but still!)

I’ve also managed to drop about another 5 lbs in the past two weeks, bringing my total weight loss to right around 95lbs! I’m getting tantalizingly close to that magic three digit number.

My motivation has remained pretty high this week, despite that difficult 4 mile run earlier on. I did another three mile run this past Thursday at the track at dusk, and it was one of my best runs ever. It was actually really relaxing, and I felt fantastic! Best of all, I barely felt any soreness the following day.

Saturday was my long run day. The training plan calls for week one’s long run to be 5 miles. Instead of looping around the track 20 times, I decided to pay my old friend, the Bayonne Bridge, a visit. Before, when I would run the bridge, I would just go across to the end, then turn right back. This time, my route would take me into the town of Bayonne for about a mile or so.

Now, the incline on the bridge itself is pretty long and steep. But, when I got into Bayonne itself, I found out that the terrain was rather hilly, making for a pretty difficult run. In hindsight, I probably wont take that route for a long run for a little while, only because it’s very taxing – combined with the longer distance, it’s not an easy run at all.

After I got home, showered, rehydrated, and ate, I felt like a million bucks. My body is really starting to get used to this, and I’m reaping the benefits of a healthier lifestyle – more energy, confidence, and much less fatigue. Well, that wraps up Week 1. Stay tuned for Week 2!

– therunningfatguy

Leave a Reply

